Newsletters https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/categories/newsletters Sat, 10 Dec 2022 01:04:43 +0000 MYOB en-gb Ty’s Take April 2019 https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/tys-take-april-2019 https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/tys-take-april-2019 Newsletters Mon, 29 Apr 2019 15:09:21 +0000 Earnings Season https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/its-earnings-season https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/its-earnings-season

As you all know, one of my favorite times is earnings season. I find listening to the various CEOs incredibly insightful. While one must always remember that a CEO's main job is selling the company's stock, what they say can be incredibly beneficial to see how they view markets – albeit, with a bit of caution. Schlumberger Some highlights from the ...]]>
Newsletters Mon, 29 Apr 2019 14:57:09 +0000
U.S. Oil Going Places https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/us-oil-going-places https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/us-oil-going-places

As we have noted in a prior edition of The Five Star Standard, the U.S. is set to become a net energy exporter.The U.S. has rapidly moved up to be one of the biggest (at times the biggest) oil producers: Indeed, In the last two months of 2018, the U.S. Gulf Coast already exported more crude oil than it imported. Monthly net trade of crude oil in th...]]>
Newsletters Mon, 29 Apr 2019 18:38:41 +0000
U.S. Does Not Renew Sanctions Waivers https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/us-does-not-renew-sanctions-waivers https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/us-does-not-renew-sanctions-waivers Newsletters Mon, 29 Apr 2019 14:38:31 +0000 Will a Wave of Consolidation Hit the Shell Patch? https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/will-a-wave-of-consolidation-hit-the-shell-patch https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/will-a-wave-of-consolidation-hit-the-shell-patch Newsletters Mon, 29 Apr 2019 14:32:56 +0000 Ty’s Take for March 2019 https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/tys-take-for-march-2019 https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/tys-take-for-march-2019

The article this edition I most enjoyed writing was on U.S.-Sino relations. I believe the topic to be much more complex than a simple article allows and I find it fascinating. Suffice it to say, I truly believe we are not just looking at a simple concern of balancing a trade deficit (or more likely narrowing it) but with competing claims to U.S. Gl...]]>
Newsletters Thu, 28 Mar 2019 21:03:05 +0000
NOPEC?? Will the U.S. Pass Anti-OPEC legislation? https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/nopec-will-the-us-pass-anti-opec-legislation https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/nopec-will-the-us-pass-anti-opec-legislation

Every few years it seems that some elected representative puts some proposed legislation forward to ban OPEC and stop its ability to manipulate oil pricing. Usually, this legislation follows a period of increasing oil prices and seeks to subject governments who are otherwise exempt from anti-trust rules to our laws concerning anti-trust. The argume...]]>
Newsletters Thu, 28 Mar 2019 15:02:17 +0000
Oil Markets: U.S Economy Update https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/oil-markets-us-economy-update https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/oil-markets-us-economy-update

In this article, we look at two things: the state of the U.S. economy as a whole and what we see developing in oil markets. The state of the U.S. economy is a key driver of oil demand.Stubbornly, oil markets have finally moved back into backwardation (meaning traders finally believe that by the end of the year, there will be more demand than supply...]]>
Newsletters Wed, 27 Mar 2019 20:01:12 +0000
OPEC Update https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/opec-update https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/opec-update

As discussed in the last edition of The Five Star Standard, OPEC agreed to production cuts lead primarily by Saudi Arabia.As I noted, it was a bit of an uneasy truce and agreement among OPEC members.But as also noted in prior articles, Saudi Arabia took the laboring ore. OPEC was originally scheduled for an extraordinary meeting in Vienna April 17-...]]>
Newsletters Wed, 27 Mar 2019 20:58:10 +0000
U.S China Tradewar - A Small Business Perspective https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/us-china-tradewar-a-small-business-perspective https://fsmetals.com/about-us/blog/us-china-tradewar-a-small-business-perspective

Copious amounts have been written about the ongoing dialogue between the United States and China as they attempt to resolve their trade dispute.Many commentators have noted the ongoing strategic nature of the negotiations, both in terms of trade and in terms of other issues raised by U.S.-Sino relations, including but not limited to exertion of inf...]]>
Newsletters Tue, 26 Mar 2019 20:30:29 +0000